Gen Ed: Humanities (History, Art)

Created by the Independence Hall Association.

Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The site offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.

An archive containing thousands of documents relating to the Presidency of the United States from the late eighteenth-century to the present day, including Presidential papers and messages.

Contains core primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

Historic US newspapers; many scanned and digitally available, ranging from 1789 to 1963.

Supports the full and prompt release of historical materials by governments on all sides of the Cold War.

A site that shows you how to piece together the past from the fragments that have survived.

6,700 documents; search by topic or keyword.

Podcast host Dan Carlin makes history come alive with his unique style and impressive grasp of history, both macro and micro.

Provides a variety of resources on the ancient world, from primary texts to site plans.

Open-access repositories on South Africa and Africa history and culture.

An accessible and authoritative multimedia history of World War II.

The first index of content on the World Wide Web and still operates as a directory of e-texts and information sources on the web.

Dedicated to collecting, preserving, and providing access to primary sources that document the history of the visual arts in America.

A chronological and comprehensive list of sites.

200 major art museums have collaborated to provide a single site with information about collections and museums.

A glossary from London's Tate Gallery.

Searchable by artist, title of work and individual galleries, this site provides links to works of art in various virtual museums round the world, providing images and catalog information.

Although a commercial site, this is compiled by an ex-art librarian and sites listed are carefully selected.

This project allows users to 'walk' around galleries using the Google Maps 'street view' technology and to see reproductions of artworks.

Hover over "Timelines" and then select the desired time period and geographic area.

Aims to promote the work of culturally-diverse artists. This site has a digital archive of images, text, audio and video. It also includes a link to their library catalog.

The Met presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy.

The British Library's digital collection of its paintings, drawings, prints, photographs, sculpture and historical furniture.

Image database of visual arts collections comprising over 100,000 images which are freely available and copyright-cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.

The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800), currently containing over 11,600 reproductions.