LibGuides: Computer-Integrated Machining: Outside Resources

NOTE: Some of these might be commercial sites that offer free resources.

CNC Zone
Discussion forum covering topics from DIY CNC machines to the CAD/CAM software to run them.
Control Automation
Community of control engineers, automation specialists, and experts in the broader industrial field.
The Engineering Design Process
Outlines and illustrates the steps that engineers follow to come up with a solution to a problem.
The Engineering ToolBox
Tools and basic information for design, engineering and construction of technical applications.
The Home Shop Machinist
Blog forum for those interested in machining.
Machine Tools
Facilitates the buying and selling of metalworking machines, machine tools, and fabricating equipment.
MatWeb
Searchable database of material properties; includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
Modern Machine Shop Online
Blog entries, industry news and links, and videos about machining.
National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies
Provides certification for those working in the fields of engineering technology.
Practical Machinist
The largest manufacturing technology forum on the Web.
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Industrial buying and specifying guide; offers access to an enormous database of industrial information; free registration.
The Virtual Machine Shop
Dedicated to the perpetuation of machine tool knowledge and training.

Calculators

CalculatorEdge
Dozens of special calculators for solving complex equations and formulas in fields including: electrical, mechanical, chemical, electronics, civil, metallurgy, plastics, physics, and math.
Desmos Graphing Calculator
Free graphing calculator that can be used both as a web application and mobile application.
Mathematics Statistics and Analysis Calculators
Free calculators that can be used on a variety of browsers as well as mobile and tablet devices.
MegaConverter2
Calculator that handles conversions (fractions to decimals, Fahrenheit to Celsius, Roman numerals to Arabic numerals, etc.)
Texas Instrument Graphing Calculator - TI-83 (Advanced Tutorial)
This tutorial by Russ Baker from Howard Community College (Maryland) gives more functions of the TI-83.

General

Creative Commons
Not-for-profit organization that helps develops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure to maximize digital creativity, sharing, and innovation.
Google Scholar
Restricts web searches to scholarly literature.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Public-domain books/articles from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive
Books, movies, and musical performances plus the famous Wayback Machine.
National Science Digital Library
Resources for teaching and learning, with emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.
NIOSH Hearing Loss Simulator
Training and communication tool for promoting hearing loss prevention. It allows a user or trainer to demonstrate the effects of noise exposure on hearing without experiencing an actual noise-induced hearing loss.
NY Public Library Digital Collections
Books, prints, photographs, and historic magazines.
Open Library
Provides digital copies of public domain books.
Project Gutenberg
Free e-books for which U.S. copyright has expired.
U.S. Government Manual
Programs/activities within the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.
Wikipedia
Crowd-sourced encyclopedia.